Waquoit Bay Yacht Club

41o 34.739 'N / 70o31.595 'W
Waquoit, Massachusetts

Click for Waquoit, Massachusetts Forecast

Club News
Social Events
Calendar
Projects
Races Information
Junior Sailing Program
Cruises
Cruises
Officers
Recipes
Photos
About Us
By-Laws
Links
Tides
Weather
Home

Junior Sailing Program

Last updated: Thursday, April 2, 2009 2:17 PM

 

 

(Click on Picture to enlarge)

Click here for sailing program news

Click here to view the photo gallery

2009 Summer Program

Click HERE to load the free adobe reader program for reading and printing pdf files


Junior Sailing Program
Waquoit Bay Yacht Club

Summer of 2009

The Waquoit Bay Yacht Club’s Junior Sailing Program is a learn-to- sail program focusing on instruction, racing, developing friendships, fun and appreciation for the sailing environment of Waquoit Bay. Classes are open to children and off Cape grandchildren of club members ages 8-18. Non members are also encouraged to participate at a slightly higher fee, space provided. The program begins Monday, June 29th and runs through Thursday, August 20th. There is also a partial sailing option available in the two sessions detailed below. Weekly newsletters and announcements are posted in the “Junior Sailing Program” section on the WBYC website (www.waquoitbayyc.org) and on the front bulletin board at the clubhouse. Feel free to contact the Youth Committee Chairs with any questions at wbycjrsail@gmail.com.

Click Here for the program description and the program registration and medical form which is required for each child.

Class Schedule/Fees

 Beginner Optimist *(must be at least 8 yrs old)                         
 Monday – Thursday 9a.m.-12 p.m.
$350.00   Members                                        $450.00  Non-Members

Advanced  Optimist* (by instructor recommendation)
Monday-Thursday  1-4pm    
$350.00 Members                                          $450.00  Non-Members

420 Racing                                     
Monday-Thursday  1-4pm
$450.00 Members                                          $550.00 Non-Members               

Partial Sailing Instruction   Optimist class  $250.00;  420 class $300.00  
Four (4) week sessions:
Session (1):  June 29th-July 23rd
Session (2):  July 27th-August 20th

$50.00 discount for additional siblings.

*Optimist classes are taught in privately owned boats. Each sailor in the Optimist Class must have their boat ready to sail the first day of class. The 420 racing team is taught in club owned boats.

All Senior Staff Instructors are US Sail Certified Level 1 and have Red Cross certification in first aid and CPR.

SPECIAL EVENTS
Kick Off Party                                 June 28th, 4 pm                  Staff, parents, and children. Bring munchies.
Session I                                        June 29th-July 23rd
Session II                                       July 27th-August 20th
Fund Raiser Dinner                        August 8th
Awards Banquet                             August 20th

       
 LTD:
    "Lousy Thursday Dinners" will be held every Thursday at the Club at 6pm.  Junior Sailing Program parents take turns preparing the dinners.  The cost is $3/person.  Reservations are made via a sign-up sheet posted on the bulletin board with a menu attached each week.  This is a great opportunity for junior sailors and their families to gather, as well as for any interested Club member to enjoy a delicious dinner.  "Capture the Flag" is the traditional after-dinner activity for the junior sailors and siblings, while the parents get to relax and chat -- and maybe, help clean up!

EQUIPMENT:
    Each sailor must bring a Coast Guard approved life jacket, footwear, hat, sunglasses, sunscreen, and water bottle.  All gear is to be stored on pegs underneath the deck.  ALL equipment must be labeled.  All Optimists are stored on the racks on the beach.  No boats or trailers are to be pulled up on the beach.SWIM TEST:
    Every student, regardless of age or number of years in the program, will be required to take a swim test on the first day of the program.  Students under 12 years of age must be able to tread water for one minute and swim 200 feet.  Students over 12 years old must be able to tread water for three minutes and swim 500 feet.RULES:

  • HAVE FUN!

    Each student is expected to behave in a mannerly fashion, respecting the rights and property of others.

    Students should arrive no more than 10 minutes BEFORE class and must be picked up no later than 10 minutes AFTER class.

    Personal injuries must be reported to the instructors immediately.

    Damage or loss of equipment must be reported to the instructors immediately.

    PFD's must be worn at all times when on the water.

    Proper footwear must be worn at all times.

    No student will leave class or club sponsored events without written permission from parent or guardian and permission from the Head Instructor.

    No running on the docks.

    No swearing at any time.

    Kitchen and office area are off limits to students.

    No climbing on or jumping off moored boats.

    Parents are responsible for paying for lost or broken equipment.

  • Any discipline problems that pose a safety concern for other students may result in the misbehaving student being removed from class.

   Any questions? Telephone 508-477-6421 or 508-548-0417. 

SIgnal flags for the letters of the alphabet

Contact the  Webmaster